David Clements, CEO and Executive Director

David Clements David Clements is CEO/Executive Director of IAEI. He has been an active IAEI member at the local, section and national levels for more than twenty-five years. He served as international board member from 1995 until 2007 when he served as our 2007 international president. In 2010, he retired after twenty-nine years with Nova Scotia Power, in Halifax, Nova Scotia, as their chief electrical inspector. During his tenure as chief electrical inspector, he was a voting member on the Canadian Standards Association (CSA), Technical Committee on the Canadian Electrical Code, Part I, a member of the Regulatory Authority Committee and member of the Canadian Advisory Committee on Electrical Safety. He has served on NFPA Smart Grid Steering Committee, Electrical Infrastructure Training Program and is presently a member of the UL Electrical Council.

Doug Geralde, Vice President, International Affairs

In his 33 year role at CSA, Mr. Geralde has conducted numerous investigations into unsafe products, product failures, counterfeit products, and root cause analysis. Mr. Geralde has worked with various regulatory authorities in Canada, the U.S. and throughout the world. He has also appeared before Parliamentary and Senate hearings as an expert witness for input to potential legislation concerning counterfeit and unsafe products. He is the founding Chair of the Canadian Anti-Counterfeiting Network (CACN) and has also worked with the RCMP, CBSA, Homeland Security, EUROPOL and INTERPOL as a subject matter expert in the growing battle against counterfeiting. Mr. Geralde also represents Canada as Chair and member of several international standards development committees, such as ISO/PC 246 on anti-counterfeiting tools and ISO/TC 247 on fraud, countermeasures and controls. He is a member of the Board of Directors for the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI) and a member of the Board of Directors for the International Consumer Product Health and Safety Organization (ICPHSO). 

Mark Hilbert, 2014 International President

Mark Hilbert is the chief electrical inspector for the state of New Hampshire, Bureau of Electrical Safety and Licensing and has been employed by the office for 14 years. He holds all the IAEI electrical inspector certifications. He holds a master electrician's license in two states and is a former electrical contractor in the states of New Hampshire and Massachusetts. Prior to opening his contracting business, he had over seven years of industrial electrical experience. Mark represents IAEI as an alternate member on Code Making Panel 4 and is a principle member on the NFPA 79 Committee, the Standard for Electrical Equipment of Industrial Machinery. He is past president of the Granite State Chapter and the Eastern Section. He is the Eastern Section's delegate to the IO Board of Directors. Mark has taught electrical code classes since 1994 and has over 35 years of experience in the electrical industry. He has taught the National Electrical Code and promoted electrical safety nationally and internationally.

Don Offerdahl, First Vice President

Don Offerdahl Don Offerdahl is the retired Executive Director for the state of North Dakota. He had been employed with the North Dakota State Electrical Board for over 25 years. Don started his career with the State Electrical Board on July 2, 1984 as an electrical inspector. He is a long-time member and former secretary of the IAEI North Dakota Chapter. 

Steven Jones, Second Vice President

Steven Jones is the building inspections manager at the city of Oceanside, California.


David Hill, Third Vice President

David Hill is the field labeling and education team at Intertek Testing Services. He is also an instructor with the Electrical Education Consultants.

Larry Chan, Fourth Vice President 

Larry Chan is the building offical at the city of New Orleans, Louisiana.

Shawn Paulsen, Fifth Vice President

Shawn Paulsen is the manager of conformity assessment at CSA Group.