Welcome to IAEI’s online summary of state and local electrical codes and standards. This section of the IAEI.org website summarizes the major provisions of electrical code, enforcement, inspector licensing requirements (if available), and contractor/electrician licensing requirements for states, selected countries, and local jurisdictions.

If you work for a particular jurisdiction and/or country that is not listed here, or if you find that the electrical or building codes information is out of date, please drop us a line.

Every attempt to provide the most up-to-date information is intended, however always check with the local AHJ to ensure accuracy, as rules and regulations can vary from one local jurisdiction to the next. 

United States

We believe that electrical safety begins with good codes enforced uniformly across the nation. But how uniform are we? America is as diverse in its adoption and enforcement of electrical codes as it is with its geography, political alliances, and people. From the mandatory state-wide enforcement of the California Electrical Code to the home rule state of Mississippi, our states and local jurisdictions all have their own ways of enforcing the National Electrical Code. 

Note: Every state has its own timetable when it comes to adopting the latest version of the NEC. Some states, like Massachusetts, adopt the NEC at the beginning of the code cycle year, such as January 1, 2008 for the NEC-2008. Others adopt the new code throughout that first cycle year, with June 1 being a popular date for the states to begin enforcement. Another trend is for a state to wait until the beginning of the next year of the cycle (2009 for the NEC-2008) to begin adoption proceedings.


The Canadian Electrical Code, CE Code, or CSA C22.1 code is a standard published by the Canadian Standards Association to establish safety standards for the installation and maintenance of electrical equipment in Canada. In Canada, most of the jurisdictions that adopt the CE Code are provincial or territorial, with the exception of the cities of Vancouver and Winnipeg. The federal government of Canada adopts the latest CE Code, but it is applied only to federal facilities (e.g., post offices, military, etc.). Similar to the United States, each province and territory is responsible for electrical safety within its boundaries. Although they all adopt the CE Code, there may be local amendments to recognize geographic conditions or local practices.

The CE Code serves as the basic code for electrical safety, shock, and fire hazards across Canada. Generally, legislators adopt the code by reference, usually with a schedule of changes that amends the code for local conditions. These amendments may be administrative in nature or may have technical content particular to the province or territory [for example, Yukon may make regulations that are different from Southern Ontario]. Revisions to the CE Code are scheduled on a three-year cycle.


  • In November 2012, Mexico adopted the NEC 2011. It will be active as of May 30, 2013. The new regulation for electrical regulations is a Norma Oficial Mexicana NOM-001-SEDE-2012 Instalaciones Eléctricas, Utilización.

    Ministry of the Economy
    Av. Tecnológico No. 106 Ex-Hda. Ojo Caliente Col. 4° Centenario
    Zip Code 20190
    Area Code: (01) (449)
    Telephone(s): 9702501, 9702503, 9702504, 9703315 Fax: 9702502
  • Adopted Code. 2011 National Electrical Code, effective May 30, 2013

Regulations Updates

California Adopts 2011 NEC

January 6, 2014
The 2013 California Electrical Code, based on the 2011 National Electrical Code, will become effective in California on January 1, 2014.  The 2013 California Electrical Code (which is Title 24, Part 3 of the California Construction Codes) was adopted and published earlier in 2013 with minimal state amendments.  

Source: NEMA Code Alerts

Massachusetts Adopts the 2014 NEC

December 9, 2014
The Massachusetts Board of Fire Prevention Regulators voted to approve the 2014 National Electrical Code on Dec 5, 2013. The effective date of adoption will be January 1, 2014.

Source: NEMA Code Alerts

Wisconsin Adopts the 2011 NEC

November 4, 2013
The Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services has adopted the 2011 National Electrical Code (NEC) with amendments, effective December 1, 2013. 

Source: NEMA Code Alerts