IAEI Mission and History
Share |

Our Mission

We educate and equip electrical professionals while unifying the industry to promote electrical safety. Electrical inspectors, multi-hat inspectors, electrical installers and contractors, testing agencies, standards organizations, manufacturers, and distributors all working together to ensure the public safety.


In the earlier years, most of the teaching was done in informal discussions. Then those sessions grew into regular training meetings.
In the 1980s, the IAEI began a serious thrust toward writing and publishing materials that could be disseminated globally through seminars, chapter presentations, various electronic media, and the Internet.
Composed originally of only electrical inspectors, membership in the IAEI quickly included any persons or organizations in the electrical industry who wished to focus on safety. It is this common code forum provided by IAEI that qualified it to properly refer to itself as the keystone of the electrical industry—that interlocking mechanism which ties the supporting pieces together.
At least four of the sections were organized before IAEI itself was incorporated:
  • Eastern Section, 1903. First meeting of the National Association of Electrical Inspectors. Members of this organization went on to form the Eastern Section of IAEI in 1928.
  • Western Section, 1904. The Western Electrical Inspectors Association, precursor to the Western Section, was formed.
  • Southwestern Section, 1914. First recorded meeting of the Northern California Electrical Inspectors, at San Jose, California, was on June 21, 1914.
  • Southern Section, 1928. The organizational meeting was in New Orleans on October 28, 1928. The 1929 section meeting laid claim to being the first Southern Section meeting.
  • Northwestern Section, 1929. F. D. Weber, of Portland, Oregon, was elected as the first Northwestern Section secretary.
  • Canadian Section, 1931. Meeting of Quebec Electrical Inspectors.
IAEI was organized in 1928 and incorporated in 1929. By March of that year, there were 1,989 active and associate charter members on its books. In May 1930, IAEI announced that Miss F. H. Pettee of the Simplex Wire and Cable Company of Jacksonville, Florida, was the first "lady member."
Through the years, membership has spread across the United States and Canada and into Mexico (1997), Japan (1969), Korea (2002),  Saudi Arabia (1981) and 22 other countries.
Today, IAEI has a broad membership base but it remains the voice of the electrical inspectors and those in the industry who support electrical safety through code compliance — those who have the responsibility of making sure the consumer is safe.  IAEI insists on fairness, code-compliance and dedication to electrical safety without commercial bias.
Wisdom from the past:
Know your code
Be loyal to its requirements
Administer it intelligently
Study to be helpful
Listen courteously
Explain patiently
Always be fair
—William Brown Hubbell, Organizing member of Western Association of Electrical Inspectors, 1905–1929

Capital Campaign & 2018 IO Office Renovation

A huge thanks to all who contributed to the IAEI Capital Campaign from 2012 to 2018 to support the renovation of the IAEI International Office facility. The campaign raised $993,358.58 in total, and the renovation was completed in September 2018.e accept healthcare practitioners from a broad range of professions into our Fellowship program. We believe that we can improve healthcare through true collaboration among all providers and that there is value in sharing our unique perspectives on healthcare. Learn More >

Past International Presidents

President Section Year
J.C. Forsyth Eastern 1929
W.S. Boyd Western 1930
R.H. Manahan Southwestern 1931
F.D. Weber Northwestern 1932
N.E. Cannady Southern 1933
W.J. Mahan Eastern 1934
A.G. Hall Canadian 1935
Ralph Wiley (R.W. Wiley) Southwestern 1936
L.W. Going Northwestern 1937
H.N. Pye Southern 1938
M.G. Lloyd Eastern 1939
K.W. Adkins Western 1940
G.E. Kimball Southwestern 1941
W.L. Gaffney Northwestern 1942
T.W. Bowry Southern 1943
James D. Lynett Eastern 1944
L.P. Dendel Western 1945
B.C. Hill Southwestern 1946
W.R. Volheye Northwestern 1947
J.G. Fisher Southern 1948
Charles A. Ward Eastern 1949
John E. Wise Western 1950
Author C. Veit Southwestern 1951
Chester M. Kirsop Northwestern 1952
Walter A. Stall Southern 1953
Bernard A. McDonald Eastern 1954
Samuel R. Todd Western 1955
Larry O. Trim Southwestern 1956
Harold S. Morr Northwestern 1957
Dewey L. Johnson Southern 1958
Rene LaBelle Canadian 1959
Peter J. Hicks, Jr. Eastern 1960
George C. Monroe Western 1961
Everett E. Carlton Southwestern 1962
Cliff Atkins Northwestern 1963
R.E. Ward Southern 1964
F.R. Whatmough Canadian 1965
John W. Hager Eastern 1966
W.P. Hogan Western 1967
W.F. Reed Southwestern 1968
John C. Hewitt Northwestern 1969
Richard B. Boyd Southern 1970
Keith L. Bellamy Canadian 1971
Carlton E. Schaad Eastern 1972
Heilbron B. (Bill) Love Western 1973
Colin J. Watt Southwestern 1974
Artie O. Barker Northwestern 1975
Marvis S. "Dude" Parmley Southern 1976
John E. Leeming Canadian 1977
George E. Riley Eastern 1978
Leo Nagel Western 1979
Robert D. Sappington Southwestern 1980
Roger A. Niedermeyer Northwestern 1981
George W. Flach Southern 1982
G. Wilf Lawson Canadian 1983
Albert J. Reed Eastern 1984
Edward Lawry Western 1985
Eugene Y. Fujihara Southwestern 1986
J. Philip Simmons Northwestern 1987
Melvin L. Young Southern 1988
John D. Walker Canadian 1989
Milton H. Lounsbury Eastern 1990
William L. Raines Western 1991
Russell J. Helmick Jr. Southwestern 1992
John Stricklin Northwestern 1993
Donald Germain Southern 1994
Norman T. Scott Canadian 1995
Andre R Cartal Eastern 1996
Paul Bowers Western 1997
Thomas E. Trainor Southwestern 1998
Elver L. Madsen Northwestern 1999
Jimmy R. Bonds Southern 2000
Doug Geralde Canadian 2001
Anthony J. Montuori Eastern 2002
Ray Weber Western 2003
Lanny McMahill Southwestern 2004
Gaylen Rogers Northwestern 2005
Wayne Lilly Southern 2006
David Clements Canadian 2007
Robert McCullough Eastern 2008
Richard "Dick" Owen Western 2009
Richard Maddox Southwestern 2010
Charles "Chuck" Mello Northwestern 2011
Stan Benton Southern 2012
Steve Douglas Canadian 2013
Mark Hilbert Eastern 2014
Don Offerdahl Western 2015
R. Steve Jones Southwestern 2016
 David Hill  Northwestern 2017
Larry Chan  Southern  2018 
Shawn Paulsen Canadian 2019