Arkansas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Arkansas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

effective October 22, 2019

Arkansas Department of Labor
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 894-2300

Quick Fact: Arkansas is one of the states where the adopted code is considered the minimum electrical standard. Jurisdictions can adopt codes that are better than the minimum (such as the NEC-2020). (Send us an update):

License Renewal & CEU Requirements



RENEWAL DATE: Licensing date
Units of time — Contact Hours. All the 8 continuing education hours must be NEC code related.
  • Journeyman electricians. Alaska, Colorado, New Mexico, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming
  • Master electricians. Oklahoma and Oregon
  • Contractors. Arkansas has reciprocity with Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama and Louisiana. You must complete a Request for Verification of License and Affidavit form. The reciprocity is for exam waiver only.

For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.

Courses for Arkansas:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>