Certified Electrical Inspector Certification Program - Master (CEI-M)
Share |

Certified Electrical Inspector Certification Program (CEI)

Master Program (CEI-M)

The Certified Electrical Inspector Program - Master (CEI-M) certification program consists of a set of eligibility requirements (completed prior to program application), a computer-based examination (with a retest process in the event that you do not pass the test), and a set of re-certification requirements (based on a point system) that must be completed within a three-year time period following the initial certification.

The CEI-M program showcases an individual's knowledge and proficiency with electrical inspections and requirements found in NFPA 70, National Electrical Code

Program Benefits

  • Recognition as proficient in NFPA 70 practices and concepts
  • Enhance professionalism within the electrical inspector community
  • Promote professional development through continuous learning
  • Ensure a uniform, fair process for certification that is accessible to everyone who is eligible
  • Certificate from a Nationally Recognized Certification Program

Who is eligible? 
Candidates for certification must have the following levels of education and/or experience. Note: It is recommended that the applicant be already employed as an electrical inspector in order to complete the Practicum Phase.

  • High school or GED
  • Completion of Registered Electrical Apprenticeship Training Program, Associate Degree in Electrical Construction Technology (or equivalent), Journeyman Electrician (or equivalent) or Master Electrician, BS in Electrical Engineering or PE in Electrical Engineering
  • 8,000 hours as an electrician, or 4,000 hours as an electrical inspector

Enrollment Steps

To apply to the IAEI CEI program, you must first apply to the program and submit the appropriate fee. After acceptance into the program, you will be required to take the exam and complete a practicum phase. After completion, you will then be required to complete certain steps for renewal every three years.  
Application + Fee
The first step in pursuing the Certified Electrical Inspector Program is to submit the appropriate fee with the complete examination application.

Transfer Applications
Transfer applicants from other related electrical inspector certification programs are considered for acceptance into the IAEI Certification Program for Residential Inspectors and Master Electrical Inspectors. Transfer participants from other related certification programs to the IAEI Certification Program for Residential and Master Electrical Inspectors are required to complete the IAEI Electrical Inspectors Certification Program Practicum Phase requirements and one of the following: complete 8 hours of an IAEI training program OR complete recertification requirements

CEI Exam

The CEI exam is a four-hour, open-book, multiple-choice exam taken at a Prov location or online at ExamRoom.AI. The exam is based on the 2017 edition of NFPA 70, National Electrical Code. IAEI's Electrical General Study Guide is helpful for preparing to take the exam.   

Practicum Phase
The Practicum Phase is designed to ensure that an individual demonstrates experience in the particular field prior to becoming certified. This phase not only ensures that you have relevant job experience, but also provides additional learning opportunities. After passing the examination, applicants have 270 days maximum to complete the field practicum portion of the program, and submit Practicum Phase materials. For the CEI-M program, 30 inspections must be conducted and reported.  

Renewal Information

Annual Program Fee
Certificate holders are assessed an annual program fee of $60 (members) or $85 (non-members), which includes the recertification process. Certificate holders are notified annually by mail when their annual program fee is due. Pay Online >
Recertification Requirements
In order to maintain your certification, you are required to submit a minimum of sixty (60) points of documented professional development for recertification. The 60 points must be submitted during the 3-year recertification cycle and must be related to the specified electrical inspector profession. 

Explanation of Credits

You are required to have a total of 62 overall credits to complete this certification.

  • 60 points per the recertification points chart
  • 1 credit after you have paid the renewal fee (FEE)
  • 1 credit for participation in the program (CEI-M Certification)


Current CEI-M Certificate Holders
View a list of CEI-M Certification Holders. Learn More >