Colorado Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Colorado Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

NEC-2020
effective August 1, 2020

Colorado State Electrical Board
1560 Broadway, Suite 1350
Denver, CO 80202
(303) 894-2300

Quick Fact: Colorado is another state on a three-year cycle. An interesting thing to note is that while the state does adopt the Code statewide, local jurisdictions have up to a year to adopt the most recently adopted standard. (Send us an update):


License Renewal & CEU Requirements

Electricians

HOURS REQUIRED:  24
CODE-RELATED: 4
RENEWAL CYCLE: Triennial

RENEWAL DATE: 9/30
 
Units of time — Of the 24 hours, 4 CE hours must be on changes to the currently adopted NEC. Additional hours must be related to the National Electrical Code changes (minimum of 4 hours), grounding and bonding, wiring methods, theory and calculations, and a maximum of four hours in a course related to the electrical industry.
 
Electrical Inspectors? Must be a licensed journeyman or master electrician. The State of Colorado does not require certification for an inspector. Instead, state statute relies on the minimum competency established by state licensure as a journeyman or master electrician as the minimum qualification for a state electrical inspector. We also impose experience requirements in addition to the minimum qualification by requiring 5 years of minimum experience as a journeyman electrician. Inspectors for local jurisdictions “shall possess the same qualifications required of state electrical inspectors…” (12-23-115(1)(b) C.R.S.) The local jurisdiction may require certification in addition to state licensure.
 
Reciprocates — Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming. Colorado has reciprocal licensing agreements, for a journeyman license only, with the following states: Alaska, Arkansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.

Courses for Colorado:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>