Iowa Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Iowa Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

effective January 1, 2018

State Fire Marshal Division, Building Code Bureau
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(515) 725-6145
(406) 841-2300

Quick Fact: Iowa is an example of a state that has statewide adoption with amendments. For example, the Iowa board voted to retain several GFCI amendments from the NEC-2011 and voted to eliminate some of the AFCI requirements from 210.12(D) and 406.4(D)(4). ( Send us an update):

License Renewal & CEU Requirements

State Fire Marshal Division, Electrical Examining Board  
215 East 7th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
(515) 725-6147



Units of timeContact Hours. Of the 18 required continuing education hours, 6 must be on the National Electrical Code The additional 12 hours must be related to electrical installations.

State Electrical Inspectors are required to obtain certifications within one year of hire. Inspectors must obtain one of the following types of certification within one (1) year of hiring:
  • Certification by the International Code Council (ICC) as both a Residential Electrical Inspector and Commercial Electrical Inspector, or
  • Certification by the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI) as both a Certified Electrical Inspector – Residential and a Certified Electrical Inspector – Master.
For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.
Courses for Iowa:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>