Kansas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Kansas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

n/a (Local)
(State-owned buildings)
effective February 4, 2011

Kansas State Fire Marshal
800 SW Jackson Street, Suite 104
Topeka, KS 66612-1216
Phone: (785) 296-3401

Quick Fact: The Kansas State Fire Marshal is responsible for enforcing the NEC-2008 for state-owned buildings, but local jurisdictions can adopt and enforce different codes. Here are a few examples of local jurisdictions throughout Kansas:

  • Sedgwick County — NEC-2017
  • City of Olathe — NEC-2017, effective September 1, 2019
  • City of Lawrence — NEC-2017, effective July 1, 2019
  • City of Shawnee — NEC-2017
  • Wyandotte County and Kansas City, KS — NEC-2011
  • City of Overland Park — NEC-2011
  • City of Fort Scott — NEC-2011
  • City of Topeka — NEC-2017
  • City of Wichita — NEC-2017

( Send us an update):

License Renewal & CEU Requirements

Electricians are not currently required to be licensed on a statewide level in Kansas. Check with your local jurisdiction, such as the City of Wichita, for local licensing requirements.
For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.
Courses for Kansas:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>