Mississippi Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Mississippi Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

Local Adoption Only

Quick Fact: As of August 1, 2014, all counties and municipalities must enact uniform building codes (one of the last three adopted editions of the IRC) unless they opted out prior to November 30, 2014. Local jurisdictions that have adopted the NEC include:

  • City of Biloxi — NEC-2017, effective April 24, 2018
  • City of Gulfport — NEC-2017, effective September 1, 2018
  • City of Meridian — NEC-2017
  • City of Jackson — NEC-2014
  • City of Southaven — NEC-2011, effective April 7, 2015
  • City of Hattiesburg — NEC-2011
  • City of Batesville — NEC-2011
  • City of Tupelo — NEC-2011, effective February 20, 2018

Electricians are not currently required to be licensed on a statewide level in Mississippi. Check with your local jurisdiction, such as the City of Jackson, for local licensing requirements.  (Send us an update):

Courses for Mississippi:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>