Missouri Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Share |

Missouri Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption

Adopted Electrical Code

Local Adoption Only

Quick Fact: The NEC-2005 was adopted for state-owned buildings, but local jurisdictions can adopt and enforce their own codes. Local jurisdictions that have adopted the NEC include:

  • Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety — NEC-2005
  • City of Kansas City — NEC-2011, effective June 3, 2012
  • City of Jefferson — NEC-2014, effective October 21, 2017
  • City of St. Louis — NEC-2017, effective August 1, 2018
  • City of Springfield — NEC-2011
  • City of Columbia — NEC-2017, effective October 1, 2019
  • City of Independence — NEC-2017
  • City of Joplin — NEC-2017, effective April 2018
  • City of St. Joseph — NEC-2017
Electricians are not currently required to be licensed on a statewide level in Missouri. Check with your local jurisdiction, such as the City of St. Louis, for local licensing requirements.
Proposed Legislation
The Office of Statewide Electrical Contractors  has drafted proposed regulations to implement State Bill 240 that would create statewide electrical contractors licenses. For additional details, visit the Missouri Division of Professional Registration site.   (Send us an update)

For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.

Courses for Missouri:

No courses are currently available online.

Visit your local IAEI chapter for classroom training and events. Learn more>