- About IAEI
|Texas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption|
Texas Continuing Education Requirements and NEC Adoption
Adopted Electrical Code
effective September 15, 2017
Texas Department of Licensing Requirements and Regulation
Quick Fact: The adopted code is considered to be the “minimum standard” for all electrical work in Texas covered under state law. However, municipalities are allowed to make local amendments. Some have amended to older codes (e.g. NEC-2011 requirements). (Send us an update):
License Renewal & CEU Requirements
Master and Journeyman Electrician
HOURS REQUIRED: 4
RENEWAL CYCLE: Annual
RENEWAL DATE: Licensure date
Units of time — Contact Hours. Of the four hours required: 2 hours must be on the National Electrical Code; 1 hour must be related to Texas Laws and Rules; and 1 hour must be related to NFPA 70.
Reciprocates — Louisiana
For additional licensing information, please contact the state board or local jurisdiction in which you reside.
Courses for Texas: